Join InCommon



InCommon Advisory Committee Nominations Open

Many people at round tables talking



InCommon needs enthusiastic volunteers to bring their unique expertise to our community groups. Serving on InCommon committees is an excellent way to serve the community, broaden your professional network, and develop and hone leadership skills. We invite you to nominate people for membership, including self-nomination. Nominations close on October 15, 2019, and new terms start January 2020. To submit a nomination please fill out the Advisory Committee Nomination Form.

These are the committees seeking new members. Details are below.

  • eduroam Advisory Committee (eAC)
  • InCommon Steering Committee
  • Community Architecture Committee for Trust and Identity (CACTI)
  • InCommon Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)
  • Community Trust and Assurance Board (CTAB)

The eduroam Advisory Committee (eAC) is a new committee to help formulate strategies and practices for US and global research and education roaming networks. We are looking for volunteers across various constituencies that make up the eduroam-US community including regional partners, K-12 partners, research institutions, small colleges, etc. Review the eAC wiki space for more information. Contact Mike Zawacki with questions about this new committee.

The InCommon Steering Committee seeks engaged leaders who will help determine the strategy for InCommon and for the overall Trust and Identity area. We are looking for nominations for leaders in higher education IT, service providers, and research groups. The Steering Committee is selected to represent the broad range of InCommon Participants. For more information about InCommon’s mission, the role of the Steering Committee, and a current list of Steering Committee members, please see Contact Dean Woodbeck with questions about this committee.

The Community Architecture Committee for Trust and Identity (CACTI) seeks individuals whose experience and expertise together comprehend the range of T&I architectures and activities nationally and internationally and the range of constituencies that comprise the research and education sector. CACTI is a standing architecture strategy group of global community members. Learn more about CACTI, including the charter, current member list, and public meeting minutes, at the CACTI wiki space. Committee chair is Chris Phillips.

The InCommon Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) supports InCommon’s mission “to create and support a common framework for trustworthy shared management of access to online resources.” The TAC works best when its members span a variety of perspectives, including (but not limited to): universities and colleges of all sorts and sizes; research organizations, traditional and virtual; regional R&E network providers; sponsored partners; trust and identity solution providers; and international partners.

The TAC seeks members with a necessary background of:

  • IAM and federation technologies including IdP and/or SP operations, or policy 
  • Active participation in the education and research community (e.g. working groups, conference presentations, etc.)
  • Commitment to the mission of InCommon and the willingness and ability to participate fully in the activities of the TAC

Learn more at the TAC wiki space, which includes the group’s charter, current member list, work plan, and public meeting minutes. Committee chair is Janemarie Duh.

The Community Trust and Assurance Board (CTAB) seeks additional members to continue support of Baseline Expectations for Trust in Federation. CTAB’s duties include shepherding the community consensus, guiding InCommon’s trust programs, and leading dispute resolution when concerns about participants arise. Members will have a substantial and lasting impact on how InCommon enables the academic mission. CTAB needs members representing all of InCommon, including:

  • Universities and colleges, both large and small
  • Research and scholarly communities
  • Commercial service providers, both large and small
  • IT and IT security strategic leadership
  • IAM and information security operations
  • International perspective
  • Internal audit
  • InCommon Staff

Learn more about CTAB, including the charter, current member list, and public meeting minutes, at the CTAB wiki space. Committee chair is Mary-Catherine Martinez.

If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact the committee contacts listed above or Jessica Coltrin, the InCommon Advocacy Program Manager.