Join InCommon

Eligibility as an InCommon Higher Education participant

A Higher Education Institution is defined in InCommon policy as a U.S. two- or four-year institution accredited by one of the following agencies. Also, some systems and central coordinating offices/organizations are also eligible to join under this classification. See section 4.1 of the FOPP, and send us a note us to discuss.

Regional institutional accrediting agencies

These regional accreditation agencies are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

National institutional and specialized accrediting bodies

InCommon also accepts accreditation from agencies recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

State Agencies that accredit institutions

Accreditation from these state agencies also meets InCommon’s requirements.