Join InCommon



New Community Leaders Join Governance and Advisory Groups

Two individuals in front of a blue background.



Estimated reading time: 4 minutes

By Jessica Coltrin
InCommon Advocacy Program Manager

More than 150 individuals from 105 organizations served on InCommon advisory and working groups in 2019. The new year means new members joining InCommon governing and advisory groups, and dedicated members rolling off. This year we welcome several new organizations as well as greater international participation. We want to warmly thank all those individuals that donate their time and talents to helping the community do its work.

InCommon Steering Committee

The InCommon Steering Committee provides oversight and recommendations on issues arising from the operation and management of InCommon. Outgoing members include:

  • Marty Ringle, CIO, Reed College
  • Dave Vernon, Assistant Vice President & CTO, Cornell University
  • Melissa Woo, Senior Vice President and CIO, Michigan State University

Beginning three-year terms are:

  • Michael Berman, CIO, California State University
  • Dave Robinson, CIO, Grinnell College
  • Marc Wallman, Vice President for IT, North Dakota State University

Officers for 2019 are:

Chair: Ted Hanss, Associate CIO, Medicine and Health Divisions at Yale University
Vice-Chair: Laura Paglione, Consultant at Spherical Cow Group

Trust & Identity Program Advisory Group (PAG)

The PAG influences the overall guidance and direction for all trust and identity services and solutions, including InCommon, the InCommon Trusted Access Platform services and software, and eduroam. Outgoing members include:

  • Klara Jelinkova, Vice President and CIO at Rice University, served as chair of the PAG.
  • Sean Reynolds, Vice President and CIO at Northwestern University
  • John O’Keefe, Vice President and CIO at Lafayette College
  • Chris Phillips, Technology Architect at Canadian Access Federation

Joining the PAG are:

  • Laura Paglione, Consultant at Spherical Cow Group
  • Tom Jordan, Solutions Architect at University of Wisconsin-Madison 

Community Architecture Committee for Trust & Identity (CACTI)

CACTI provides strategic architectural input to Internet2’s trust and identity projects and activities. Outgoing members include:

  • Tom Barton, Senior Consultant for Cybersecurity and Data Privacy at University of Chicago
  • Todd Higgins, System Administrator at Franklin and Marshall College
  • Warren Anderson, Scientist at LIGO Scientific Collaboration

Joining CACTI are:

  • Bill Thompson, Director of Digital Infrastructure at Lafayette College
  • Margaret Cullen, President and CEO at Painless Security
  • Michael Grady, IAM Architect at Unicon
  • Rob Carter, Consultant at Duke University is continuing with another three year term.

Tom Jordan, Solutions Architect at University of Wisconsin-Madison will serve as CACTI chair for 2020 and Jill Gemmill, CTO of Middleware at Clemson University, will serve as vice chair.

InCommon Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

The InCommon TAC provides recommendations relating to the operation and management of InCommon with respect to technical issues. Completing their terms with the TAC are:

  • Michael Grady, IAM Architect at Unicon, Mike has moved to membership on CACTI
  • Jessica Coltrin, formerly Associate Director at Portland State University and now Community Advocacy Program Manager for InCommon

Joining the TAC are:

  • Mizuki Karasawa, IT Architect at Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Mark Rank, Director of Product and Customer Success at Cirrus Identity
  • Keith Wessel, Senior Application Integration Professional at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Eric Goodman, IAM Architect at UC Office of the President, are continuing with another three year term.

Janemarie Duh, Identity Management Systems Architect at Lafayette College will continue as TAC chair for 2020 and Keith Wessel, Senior Application Integration Professional at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, will continue as vice chair.

Community Trust and Assurance Board (CTAB)

CTAB represents the community in InCommon’s trust and assurance related programs and initiatives. They serve as the stewards of the InCommon Baseline Expectations for Trust in Federation and, over the last two years, have contributed an immense amount of hours and thought on developing and helping the community meet those expectations. 

Completing their terms with CTAB are:

  • Adam Lewenberg, Technical Lead at Stanford University
  • John Hover, formerly at Brookhaven National Laboratory

Joining CTAB are:

  • Robert Zybeck, Application Analyst at Portland Community College
  • Richard Frovarp, Principal Software Engineer at North Dakota State University
  • Jule Ziegler, Researcher at Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (LRZ), Germany
  • Pål Axelsson, System Administrator at Swedish University Computer Network
  • Ercan Elibol, Director of Information Security at Florida Polytechnic University
  • Chris Whalen, International Program Manager at Research Data and Communications Technologies, is continuing with another three year term.

David Bantz (Chief Information Architect, University of Alaska) will serve as CTAB chair for 2020 and Mary-Catherine Martinez (Support and Implementation Specialist, Innosoft) will serve as vice-chair.

eduroam Advisory Committee (eAC)

The eAC is a new committee starting up this month to help formulate strategies and practices for US and global research and education roaming networks, report any findings, and make recommendations to CACTI and Internet2, the eduroam-US operator.

The inaugural members of this committee are:

  • Kim Owen, Program Manager for R&E Network Resources at North Dakota State University
  • Robert Gorrell, IAM Manager at University of North Carolina – Greensboro
  • Tim Cappalli, Identity & Policy Architect at Aruba, a Hewlett Packard company
  • Jeremy Livingston, CISO for NJEDGE member cooperative
  • Jeff Egly, Associate Director of Technical Services at Utah Education Network
  • Neil Johnson, Team Lead Wireless Network Support at The University of Iowa
  • Andrew Buker, Assistant Vice President, Infrastructure Services at University of Nebraska
  • Miroslav Milinovic, Asst. Director of the Computing Centre at University of Zagreb in Croatia
  • Stefan Winter, Research Engineer at the Restena Foundation in Luxembourg
  • David Morton, Director, Networks & Telecommunications at University of Washington
  • Theresa Semmens, CISO at Nevada System of Higher Education

Once the committee gets started, a chair and a vice chair will be selected.

For more information on InCommon’s Advisory Groups, see